The Inaugural Speech…

17 Feb

My fellow citizens, lend me your ears…

Well, no, we are not really going to deliver an inauguration speech for the blog.

Instead here’s our review of the first movie we saw in our Telstra adventure:

The King’s Speech

Not Us

Not A+J but Colin Firth and Helen Bonham Carter

After a frantic race to get to the cinema (we walked in as the movie was starting) we settled in to watch the first of our 52 weeks of free movies.

He says:

The King’s Speech was a fantastic way to start the ball rolling, with a fast-paced script that held your attention and strong performances by Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush.

Geoffrey Rush really commanded the screen. Every time he appeared, the witty banter between him and Colin Firth was reminiscent of a West Wing episode. You almost expected them to start walking down corridors.

As a former film student you’ll see many of my comments are around the quality of the filming of the movies we go and see. This particular one had a great scene where they went for a walk outside (which park was it?) and there was some epic lens flare and popping highlights.

I give it 9/10, getting things off to a cracking pace!

She says:

Since when did Colin Firth look so old?
Where do I know that kid playing Queen Margaret from*?
And will Helena Bonham Carter bring her eccentric style to the Oscars, with this film getting a bazillion – ok, twelve – nominations?

These were the questions that plagued me whilst watching the movie (distracted, much?) but I did love it, every bit of it.

Except for the first minute, in which I was buying sushi. But I’m told I didn’t miss much.

The King’s Speech created a delicate balance –  enough historical detail to inspire you to read up on real-life characters later, but with enough drama to stop you from searching for  ‘the real story’ on mobile Wikipedia.

I give it 9/10.  A hard rating to beat, hey, with 103 movies to come.

*She’s from the brilliant UK series ‘Outnumbered’, by the way. Highly recommended and I love her all the more for the fact that her name is Ramona. She was my favourite character in this film. Watch it for her.

2 Responses to “The Inaugural Speech…”

  1. Soph February 28, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Wow, that’s a lot of sitting in the dark.

    All the best with your challenge! I await your reviews eagerly….

    x

  2. dandanica February 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I thought it was a great movie too – and I adore that girl actress! She is just the cutest.

    Congrats on winning the tickets! I look forward to reading the reviews.🙂

Leave a Reply

