Twelve movies later

29 Oct

Oops.

We’ve left you in the lurch – for nearly three months!

We started a new film project a few months ago – it’s taken priority over blogging time without us realising.

Anyhoo.

Here are ten movie reviews – including three very strong contenders for the worst movie of the year.

Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Glee Live
Jane Eyre
Cowboys and Aliens
Horrible Bosses
One Day
Johnny English Reborn
Lion King
Abduction
Monte Carlo
Real Steel
In Time

Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Rise of the Planet of the Apes

She says: At the start I thought they were selling me a nice conservation message, but by the end I passionately hated the grumpy, angry apes – with a vengeance I’d only known for Mater in Cars2. So the emphatic point of this film was entirely lost on me, I walked out fuming. 4/10

He says: I really liked this movie, it was well thought-out, featured cleverly some cutting edge science (the pharmaceutical angle certainly added to the appeal!) and had little references sprinkled throughout linking it to the original film. 8.5/10

Also it is eerie how this children’s song predicts so much of the film…

Glee Live
Glee Live

She says: We love the TV show but didn’t expect much of the movie. So we thought we could justifiably sneak  in 30 mins late – oops. The movie was surprisingly engaging – there are some compellingly bizarre Glee fans in the states – and we regretted coming in too late for Don’t Stop Believing (our wedding recessional) in all its live 3D goodness. 7/10

He says: I don’t particularly like ‘live show’ movies; however Glee 3D was fantastic and really showed the potential for 3D films – music videos.  It really made it feel like you were there and if anyone wants to shoot a 3D music video please contact me as I really want to give it a go now! 7/10

Jane Eyre
Jane Eyre

She says: Swooooooooooooooon*. Mr Rochester was never this hot in the book! I loved being taken away to the beautiful lands of the novel, though I kept expecting Jane to go off wandering through villages and stealing pigs… not a completely true retelling but nicely intepreted for the film and time parameters. 8.5/10

*On a side note, is anyone else watching The Slap?

He says: Glad I didn’t go to this one…

C*owboys and Aliens
Cowboys and Aliens

She says: I was glad to hear the report that this film was true to its title and wouldn’t have held any interest for me whatsoever.

He says: Isn’t it great when a title perfectly describes the movie, you go in wanting cowboys shooting at aliens and you come out grinning because there were cowboys, bad aliens, good aliens AND indians all shooting at each other! 7.5/10

Horrible Bosses
Horrible Bosses

She says: Liked it more than Bridesmaids but less than both Hangovers. Definitely fits into the categories of both those movies, in terms of ridiculous plot devices and crude comedy. 8/10

He says: Pretty crude, but there were a few moments of laugh out loud hilarity that helped me get to the end. 7/10

One Day
One Day

She says: Contender for worst movie of the year. The trailer promised so much but this film was just… boring. I spent the first half admiring Anne Hathway’s hair and costumes, and the second half waiting for it to end (with only one adrenalin spike picking me up and eventually carrying it through). 3/10

He says: It is sad when the only thing can say about a film is that it had good opening titles…. 1/10

Johnny English Reborn
Johnny English Reborn

She says: Also a contender for worst movie of the year. We vaguely remembered having enjoyed the first one but ohhh this was just a painful lame fest. I actually muttered ‘lame’ very loudly throughout it – much to AJW’s embarrasment. Although, there was one outstanding moment after the credits – Rowan Atkinson’s synchronised cooking to classical music – that was brilliant. 2/10

He says: I am not sure if it is just me but has Rowan Atkinson gotten less funny over time?  Some truly painful moments of ‘comedy’ in this one. 3/10

The Lion King
The Lion King

She says: Once upon a time, it was my claim to fame that I knew every word to The Lion King. The soundtrack was played both on our newly purchased CD player (gosh! a CD!) and on pretty much every car trip for a good half-decade of my life. So when this started at the Chatswood Mandarin Hoyts*, and you couldn’t hear it properly, I was mad. But I decided that seeing it on the big screen was all that mattered so I just sung my own version to myself (and AJW, ha) and all was ok. 10/10 for the best movie of all time.

He says: Hoyts very nearly ruined this movie for me…another strike for the terrible sound system* at Chatswood Mandarin Centre Hoyts (the surround speakers had their EQ seriously out so there was no low end or mids).  Also even though I raved about the 3D in Glee – this is one movie that the 3D treatment added nothing to; in fact I think the 2D is probably better.

Hoyts 1/10 the movie 9/10

* Note – we bought the BluRay after this, and rewatched The Lion King at home – proving once and for all that the sound’s better in our little house system than at Chatswood Mandarin – where they ask for $17 a movie (except if you’re with Telstra). Fail, Hoyts.

Abduction
Abduction

She says: Yet another contender for worst movie (we had a bad few weeks). This would have made an awesome drinking game – purely for the excessiveness of Taylor Lautner’s languishing looks and shirtless cameos. It also could have made a great movie, if it hadn’t been bordering the teen/adult line so strangely – dwingling between teen romance and suspense – so it was just all a bit ‘meh’. 4/10

He says: One of the funniest movies of the year…even though it was meant to be serious. Note: If I had $1 for each time they shamelessly worked in a way for Taylor to take his shirt off in this film I would be very rich.  7.5/10 (so bad it was so good)

Watch this clip and you don’t need to see this movie…

Monte Carlo
Monte Carlo

She says: Hello, Luke Bracey! I know I’m married and all now but I spent most of this film thinking “why have I never seen you before, you handsome Australian actor?” In fact I may have jumped onto IMDB online before the credits just because he captivated me so. Anyhoo, the rest of the film was lovely and delightfully ridiculous, as expected. I even had a moment of self-realisation – my secret ambition in life is clearly ‘be mistaken as a celebrity’, because I lap up these films. 8/10

He says: I didn’t go to this movie…perhaps I shouldn’t have let Jo go either…..

Real Steel
Real Steel

She says: Hello, Hugh Jackman! (These two movies sure made up for the previous worst contenders). I read an SMH review before seeing this that said “Real Steel, despite the name, despite the trailer and despite every instinct you have, does not require that you care one gizmo about the robots.” This was true and it was great! Unusually for me, I even came to love the (very pretentious) child actor – a miracle! 9/10

He says: I really enjoyed this movie (surprisingly) it was light hearted and Hugh Jackman did a great job moving the film along with some decent acting. 8/10

In Time
In Time

She says: This movie was cool. It  looked cool (cars, hair*, costumes etc) and played it cool. This also meant it didn’t get too hot – no heightened suspense or tension – so happy days! In seeing the trailers we had thought it could reach Inception’s clever/complexity levels, and while it was a clever idea (certainly got us thinking/talking in the car afterwards) it wasn’t quite as redefining. 9/10

NB: I debated throughout the movie whether or not I could pull off Amanda Seyfried’s hairstyle - but AJW says no. Feel free to comment if you think otherwise and/or if you know where I could find a similar wig.

He says: I was really looking forward to this movie, the trailer (for once) didn’t give too much away and it looked like an interesting new sci-fi movie.  However, it failed to live up to expectations as the whole movie was what could best be described as flat, the action never really amounted to much and you never really felt worried for the main characters. 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

